Campus Compact Launches Three New Awards

November 7, 2019

Campus Compact today announces three new awards that will be bestowed on individuals and institutions who have demonstrated outstanding work in pursuit of the public purposes of higher education.

The Nadinne Cruz Community Engagement Professional Award celebrates the ethical leadership and advocacy demonstrated by Community Engagement Professionals. Each year, we will recognize an exemplary Community Engagement Professional who has demonstrated collaboration with communities focused on transformative change, a commitment to justice-oriented work, and an impact on the larger movement to build ethical and effective community engagement locally, regionally, nationally, and internationally.

The award is named for Nadinne Cruz, an innovative leader of community-based experiential learning and a pioneer of the movement for the public purposes of higher education. The Nadinne Cruz Award celebrates the ethical leadership and advocacy demonstrated by Community Engagement Professionals.

The Richard Guarasci Award for Institutional Transformation and the Eduardo J. Padrón Award for Institutional Transformation recognize 4-year institutions and community colleges, respectively, that have successfully implemented institution-wide efforts to address issues of public concern by aligning teaching, research, practice, and values in service of the common good. Through these awards, we will recognize member institutions that have undertaken comprehensive, planned efforts to advance the values articulated in our 30th Anniversary Action Statement of Presidents and Chancellors. Each year up to six institutions will be recognized.

The awards are named for two higher education leaders, Richard Guarasci, president emeritus of Wagner College, and Eduardo Padrón, president emeritus of Miami Dade College, who transformed their institutions through policy and practice to deliver on the promise of higher education to advance social, economic, and democratic participation.

The nomination period for all three awards begins on Wednesday, November 6 and will run through Tuesday, January 7, 2020. The recipients of these awards and Campus Compact’s two engaged faculty awards will be recognized at the Campus Compact Impact Awards Celebration that will be held as part of the Compact20 national conference on Sunday, March 29 in Seattle, Washington.

Submit applications for the Nadinne Cruz Community Engagement Award online at Submit applications online at

Submit applications for the Richard Guarasci and Eduardo J. Padrón Awards for Institutional Transformation online at